WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

They Live! Response

Posted by emilychildress329 on January 31, 2017

When watching the movie in class, it was nothing that I thought it was going to be. As I was watching the movie, I had no idea what was happening. In fact, I did not fully understand the movie until the near end. When the movie was over I sat down and thought about the reasoning behind the movie and I finally realized that the movie was actually eye opening.

I think even though the author kind of made a joke out of something that was completely blown out of proportion, I think that the author had a lot of meaning. People, especially authoritative figures have a way of trying to do what they think is best for us without our opinion and their are a few groups that are actually trying to save the world from authoritative figures that are doing the wrong. The message is portrayed by the fact that one person sees a reason to try to help the world from every day people that hold a higher power in our society. I never thought that a movie that made no sense to me at first, would actually get me to thinking about everything that is happening in our world.

2 Responses to “They Live! Response”

  1. jasendavis said

    I’d say the writers and producers were wanting to illustrate our dependency on media more than anything. For example, maybe some people allow others with greater media clout to effect their opinions even more than individual thought. I think the purpose was to speak out against the increase in consumerism occurring everyday.

  2. marylennoxhalf said

    I agree with the idea of not using our opinion’s and doing just what they think is right. The movie was definitely an eye opener to the use of advertising in our life today. I had to sit down and think about the impact of the movie, too!

Leave a Reply

 
