WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Reflection on the Introduction

Posted by jasendavis on January 25, 2017

 

Prior to reading this introduction to “Spreadable Media”, I had never thought about the dynamic change that has occurred with regard to the control of media. The focus of business plans for many companies used to focus on getting viewers to believe that the good or service offered is worth their purchase. Today, however, I think the goal of current business plans is to get as many people to talk about their commercials as possible. If you remember those awful “Puppy, Monkey, Baby” commercials from Mountain Dew, then you remember they had absolutely no convictive declaration of the quality of the drink. They were just impossible to forget. I think the day after the Super Bowl, the majority of tweets on my twitter feed were about those terrible commercials. In a couple of weeks, it will be time for another Super Bowl. For the first time ever, I am going to count how many commercials include a reference to social media: a hashtag or twitter handle for example. It’s fair to say that the trending topics will revolve more around ads than the game itself.

 

In another note, I fell victim to the “spreadability” of pop culture when I continued to watch the video of Susan Boyle after her mentioning in the book. I watched about two hours of America’s Got Talent tryouts after. That trip down the rabbit hole was rather unproductive, but it was funny how it highlighted the very theme being discussed in the book. I wouldn’t use the terms “sticky” or “spreadable” to describe media, but I wouldn’t use “infectious” either. “Infectious” carries a negative connotation, and that isn’t always the case. I would propose terming it as “omnipresent”  because there is no place to go to escape the influence of pop-culture.

 

5 Responses to “Reflection on the Introduction”

  1. kaufmansw said

    I can relate to those Super Bowl commercials. In fact, I almost always get lured into buying something the day after I watch them. It’s incredible the power a hashtag or trend on social media can have on people.

  2. emilyjones232 said

    I like how you mentioned the awful Mountain Dew commercials. I forgot they existed until you mentioned them! However weird or however much they did not make sense, they stuck with the audience. People were talking about them the next day at work and it became a part of popular culture.

  3. laurenivey22 said

    Ah… the Super Bowl commercials. As weird and as disturbing as the “Puppy Monkey Baby” commercial was, it was a hit. The hashtag was trending all over social media the next morning and I cannot tell you how many people in my classes were quoting it or watching it or saying the name “Puppy Monkey Baby” over and over. I liked how you touched on this because it really showed just how effective media is on social media and the brains of everyone tuning in to the Super Bowl that night.

    • laurenivey22 said

      ALso, the Susan Boyle comment you mentioned I relate to as well. I also looked her up and spent quite a bit of time watching youtube videos after that.. talk about spreadable and addicting.

  4. connorfrederick12 said

    Saying that pop culture is omnipresent is a very bold statement because the majority may not see it that way, but it is also true. The sphere of influence of just one part of pop culture (whether it be a song, a picture, a tv show ect.) is enormous. It may not include every person, but every person is in some sphere of influence from popular culture.

Leave a Reply

 
