WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Introduction Reflection

Posted by Kimberlea Ferrell on January 25, 2017

We know that the media influences our daily lives, but this class will get us actually talking about it and exploring it with each other. It’s astonishing to really think about just how much what we think, say, do, and believe are affected by the ever present media around us. Whether it’s a news channel or ads on a web page or someone’s blog, it’s giving us information (either factual or an opinion) or entertainment that we take with us into our daily lives. It’s also pretty dangerous too, because things can spread so quickly and people hardly ever check to see if the information is factual or not. Anyone can create content but people just don’t seem to remember that.

Now when I first started reading, I was a bit confused, but after rereading I understood a lot more. Reading my other classmate’s posts has helped further increase my understanding.

When the book mentioned sites that disable the back button, I was reminded of pop up ads, but ad blocker takes care of that now.

I am fascinated by the virus analogy, because I find it so true. Trends and memes grow rapidly, become a big thing, then fade away. Then the cycle repeats with a new one. There’s a new meme introduced once a month almost.

Overall I’m just really glad I chose this class because I know these discussions will be fun and potentially eye opening. I’ll be sure to thank the friend that recommended Pop Culture studies to me.

One Response to “Introduction Reflection”

  1. Sean Hull said

    Ad Blockers are really an interesting issue, and are particularly relevant to this class since a lot of the impetus for sites to gain views by being shared over social media is so that they can get ad revenue from visitors. If ad providers refuse to curate the ads they provide, and continue serving up data-consuming, obnoxious, and sometimes even malicious content, will use of Ad Blockers continue to increase, and if so, how will that affect the business models of online content providers?

Leave a Reply

 
