WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Pokémon go Oct.18

Posted by Ian Baumgardner on November 27, 2016

On December 25, 2003, I remember opening a lot presents with small toys inside. I also remember receiving the bane of every child’s existence, clothes. I after being disappointed by all pairs of socks I got noticed two smaller boxes that have yet to be open. When I opened them; the first was a silver Gameboy advance SP. The second box was something that positively impacted my life. It was the Pokémon Ruby version.

Needless to say I have been a Pokémon fan since I was a child. I have bought most of the games and put over 100 hours into each one. I even preordered the newest one. So I was very excited to hear about Pokémon Go. I downloaded the app on the first day it came out. At first I thought it was super cool. It consisted of the first 151 Pokémon.

The app promoted exercise and social interaction with the other users. Both of which are good for the stereotypical nerd, including myself, needed. But then problems started to emerge. There are over 700 Pokémon currently with some of my favorite Pokémon in later generations. Why should we limit ourselves to less than the original 151? The second and biggest problem was that I grew up in a small town. Because of this there were fewer hot spots and fewer Pokémon would appear. It was unfair because bigger cities had a ton of traction and places to go to catch Pokémon. I stopped playing after about a month.

One Response to “Pokémon go Oct.18”

  1. cliffordpaulparsoniiiesq said

    You bring up a good point that I wouldn’t have noticed as a non-Pokemon fan! You mention the actual Pokemon selection is very limited compared to home many there actually are in the series. It’s a good reason to become disenchanted with Pokemon Go, but only if you’re an established fan. If wonder if that was a big factor in the game’s decline after a month or so? I honestly would suggest “no,” because a huge percentage of the Pokemon Go players I’ve encountered were never fans of the series, so they wouldn’t have even cared how many Pokemon there are.

Leave a Reply

 
