WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Why are some retro items becoming valuable again? September 15

Posted by Ian Baumgardner on November 25, 2016

First off I collect video games so I will talk about those. Ever since I was a little kid I loved them. I remember my first video game system was a GameCube and Super Mario Sunshine was the included. I played my game for hours. Anytime I had free time and my parents allowed it, I was playing that game. It became and still is my favorite video game of all time.

Nostalgia can be pretty powerful. Apparently other gamers think so also because the retro video game market is really expense. They cost so much because most gamers wants certain games and this artificially drives up the price. This is especially true for N.E.S. and super NES games. I’m assuming people have the highest nostalgia for these consoles. Games that should be around 50 to 100 dollars are now like $3,000. You shouldn’t even think about collecting the more obscure consoles. For example, collecting for the Neo Geo is going to cost you around $300 for almost any game.

Retro game collecting is one of the few markets entirely found by nostalgia. Newer games can have high story elements and can look great. Consoles like the NES don’t necessarily have the computing power to tell amazing stories. But there are exceptions of course. Gamers just buy retro videos to relive their memories of the past or they are a collector. Why do you think so many indie games have a retro aesthetic? It is to capitalize ones sense of Nostalgia.   

Leave a Reply

 
