WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

DJ Turn the Record On… for the election?

Posted by aiyanarudolph on November 22, 2016

First of all, I had no idea that Obama had his own DJ. That above everything else is the coolest part of this entire article. I think that fact that DJ Mel went off script during Obama’s election because it was evident that he was going to win. And the song he picks is Twist and Shout from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off! I mean, I figured it was just because it was a nice jam, but he had this deep reasoning behind it. The thing was that he totally picked a playlist that everyone around the world could relate to, and it made the election a celebration. If I’m being honest the best thing this man said was that there is nothing soulful about Trump. Like the DJ to President Obama could not figure out what music would represent our current president elect because he essentially has no musicality about him. Like he such a terrible person his playlist would be terrible metal music that probably makes children cry (not saying metal is terrible so don’t come for me.) I don’t know why this article seemed so cool to me. Maybe because this guy got to DJ who I consider to be my favorite president. It’s just interesting that he understood Obama and Bernie well enough that he could DJ for them, but the thought of DJing for Trump seemed really difficult.

Leave a Reply

 
