WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Times They Are A Changin

Posted by prestonperkins91 on November 15, 2016

To be honest, I don’t listen to music regularly like everyone else I’ve come to know, I have no certain songs or artists saved on my iPhone and I usually listen to it at parties or old songs (2010-) every once in a while but never of todays music. So I’ve forgotten how current music really is and the messages the unknown artists sending out. Although that article about how to get into Bob Dylan did make me want to chill to some of those songs plus a few more of his. I hope the message these artists I read about can get their message out there, especially with a Trump presidency. Some of which reminded me of Mac Miller rapping on the Nightly Show his message to Donald Trump.

I’d almost like to compare both popular and underground music of today almost like how we’ve discussed in class how comedy can help open our eyes in certain situations, music is not so different.  Trouble is you’ll have to really listen hard to the lyrics to understand the meaning, something I have a little trouble with when it comes to modern music, give me a sick beat with those lyrics and I’ll defiantly understand the meaning.

Thats whats so good about rap, its poetic, has a beat and most of the time no filter. I used to not like rap as a little kid, but growing up in middle and high school, the general genera of rap by Snoop Dogg, Dr. Dre and NWA got me unto it and I understood the meanings of their songs. Todays famous rap songs I hear on the radio aren’t really like that anymore at least from my perspective, in fact its almost easy to combine them all as if their one damn song. Maybe I should give modern underground artists a chance.

One Response to “Times They Are A Changin”

  1. lucdigi said

    I’m the same way. I’m not into current pop music, and don’t have any music readily available to listen to on my phone. The lyrics coming from most music today are just pointless. Its almost as if (shocker) they are writing it for money and not for a cause. You ca find great music in the popular setting every now and then but it seems like you just have to dig a little deeper.

Leave a Reply

 
