WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Hip Hop+ Bob Dylan Too

Posted by radionightowl on November 14, 2016

I’m not one of the targets of the article “How to Get Into Bob Dylan in Three Easy Steps” but I certainly was excited to know what the good authors of Track Record suggested to do so. Thinking of my favorite Bob Dylan songs, I quite like the ones that are quirky, like “Rainy Day Women Number 12” but also the ones including “Like a Rolling Stone” or “Blowing in the Wind” that are more political in nature. 1960s culture has never been lost on me; I feel myself identifying with the themes and the lyrics, especially now that I feel like I might be part of the counterculture in America in this hostile political climate. What’s interesting is that I myself sometimes demonize rap music like politicians do because of this. I guess in my mind, I feel that rap is not as “worthy” as rock or folk, though artistically this is false. RUN-DMC and Public Enemy and N.W.A. and even the older groups like the Sugarhill Gang pique my interest. However, the rap and hiphop today isn’t as compelling and I wonder if it’s me putting my own judgment on to it just because it isn’t from the Sixties of Seventies. It’s still (largely) born from a ferocious political environment, yet I can’t seem to get into as much. Perhaps my idolized rock elders who believe that “rap is crap” have something to do with it? I feel like I’m pretty open minded, but when it comes to music, I’m not so liberal. I guess I want to feel satisfied with my choice on how to spend my listening time, so I float to my old favorites because I know they are always there to please. There’s a certain amount of comfort I receive from a Bob Dylan song that keeps me coming back for me. If I enjoyed rap in the same way, I wonder if that’s something I’d feel–but even so, music is for everyone, no matter how different the genres are from one another. They all have something to say, and each song does so in a unique manner that makes it viable and necessary in the context of our culture, no matter the artist or style.

One Response to “Hip Hop+ Bob Dylan Too”

  1. jennnymarks said

    Sadly, with the rap music most of our generation grew up with its normal to not think rap music is as worth as rap or folk. Most of the “rappers” these days only write songs about stupid dances. But the old school rap such as run dmc proves otherwise and i think thats pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
