WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

The things you see on campus

Posted by dbolster08 on November 10, 2016

So I was at preston center a little while ago and whenever I was waiting for my ride to pick me up I could hear yelling and chanting.  I listened for a second to see where it was coming from and I saw that there was a massive group of people outside of PFT rallying against Donald Trump.  There was literally a huge riot that was doing nothing but talking shit about Donald Trump and around them you could hear Trump supporters yelling vicious, vulgar things at them.  I thought it was one of the funniest things I had ever seen but there were people there that were really getting butt hurt about it.  On one side of the rally there were Trump supporters continuously in a “Build that Wall” chant and yelling “Make America Great Again.”  By the time I was done getting my 15 minutes of entertainment the cops had already started to show up and I think they may have even arrested a couple people.  I’m not completely sure but the cavalry contained bgpd and wkupd.  Moral of the story, don’t chill outside PFT at night especially when there is a riot.

4 Responses to “The things you see on campus”

  1. alexmalone1729 said

    I was in the vicinity of PFT after going for a run this evening and wasn’t able to make out much, but it left me feeling sick. This election has been so brutal in large part because of the severity of the cultural and ideological divide between parties. I’m having to reevaluate and reconcile many differing beliefs, and I know many others are doing the same. We’re not going to be able to grow as a nation unless we bridge that gap.

  2. tycamchan said

    Trump is about to mess America up. I was just so surprised by all the LGBT folk that I know that voted for him. And believe it or not, some of them were black. I literally couldn’t believe it.

  3. jessiemc11 said

    Yeah i heard about this i think its absolutely ridiculous. People obviously have the right to voice their opinions although its really sad the way they’re doing so. I don’t think people have come to realize that Trump is our president and no matter how much they wanna say he’s “not their president” he is and people need to pull themselves together and not use violence and hate to communicate their feelings toward things.

  4. caitgate said

    People are ridiculous. It started out as a “peaceful protest okayed by Gary Ransdell himself.” It then turned into a huge riot where people ended up getting arrested. I understand the nation is very torn and emotional over the election and the results of it, but all of this violence and hatred is unnecessary. However, it is to be expected. People get very tied up in politics. But no matter how many riots they conduct, it isn’t going to change anything.

Leave a Reply

 
