WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

WWE the Final Act

Posted by prestonperkins91 on November 6, 2016

Growing up in elementary school, my cousins and I were crazy about wrestling! I had so many of the action figures and a wrestling ring for them; I even came across one of the toys with the old WWF logo. I was the youngest of my cousins and we would always play wrestle on the trampoline at my grandma’s house, I even remember two of my cousins who are brothers making a wrestling video in their back yard. When I was about 10 it was exciting to meet Stone-Cold Steve Austin at Beech Bend for a monster truck rally. For the longest time as a kid, I could have sworn the wrestling was real, especially since the historic event in wrestling where Mick Foley was thrown off the Hell in a Cell by The Undertaker onto thumbtacks and losing a bit of teeth, leading him to taken away by paramedics.

I stopped watching wrestling around the time WWF changed to WWE.  After years of me not watching professional wrestling anymore, once I decided to witness it again, the punches, story lines, characters and everything seemed so obviously fake. I thought to myself “how could I have been so fooled by this as a kid?”

Not too long ago I did come across a YouTube video explaining the audience of wrestling, either its kids or teenagers who can’t tell that it’s all staged or its adults who know it’s fake but just go along with it.  I’m glad we now have more than just WWE , like UFC and real fighting sports. If I had known how fake professional wrestling was as a kid, I would have just watched UFC.

Image result for oh yeah randy savage slim jim

 

6 Responses to “WWE the Final Act”

  1. yanniej said

    Oh how WWE was just blown up… I remember fighting my brother over the remote just so he could watch his favorite wrestler John Cena! It still blows my mine how popular WWE was not too long ago and how these grown men basically formed a career out of something so fake! I remember the different sense the ladders and ropes and chairs to the 1,2,3 taps oh how I hated it so much! But as soon as they started incorporating the females I was so over it because I knew it was so fake and I hated it. While I do not watch UFC because it is just too violent and kind of scary to me, I would be more for people spending money and their time watching something real such as UFC than WWE any day!

  2. dbolster08 said

    I remember they would always have intricate scenarios where people would be “severely hurt” on screen but actually be fine. As a kid it was sometimes hard to tell if something was faked or not.

  3. Misty said

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.

    Thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I’ll
    just book mark this blog.

  4. Hi there, yup this post is truly pleasant and I have learned lot of things from it about
    blogging. thanks.

  5. Huong dan thu tuc cap so do cho nha tai dinh cu

  6. Thanks in support of sharing such a nice thought, post
    is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely

Leave a Reply

 
