WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

Yaaar, fork over your doubloons and iTunes!

Posted by toppermike on October 31, 2016

I apologize in advance for any typos. I just drove home to Louisville so I can cast an absentee vote tomorrow, and there is now about fifteen pounds of vibrating cat on my lap that hasn’t seen me since August.

The key question: Is piracy bad? The answer is obvious… if you’re a listener/viewer or the DMCA. If you’re the first, Hell no! Think about all the music you’ve undoubtedly listened to on YouTube. Pretty great being able to tell whether or not you like something before you go spend your hard-earned cash on it. An album off iTunes? That’s like nine tacos and tax dude. An actual physical copy? That’s the price of a discount meal from Wendy’s. Maybe your a classier, vinyl-only kind of guy. That’s a steak dinner right there. Plus, not having to pay for it might mean you spread it on towards friends before you ultimately decide whether or not to pay for it.

 

As for the DMCA, piracy is straight up evil. And you’re the devil for wanting to do it. And the Recording Industry Association of America agrees (Weird Al made a joke of this in his song “Don’t Download This Song” which you can find here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGM8PT1eAvY ). Why do they believe this? THe DMCA is out there to protect the rights of artists, and the RIAA is too… though they also want to profit from the venture. To look at it from their perspective, if you ran a bakery, you probably wouldn’t want people to walk in constantly and take stuff off your shelves without paying for it.

 

The real question here is how do artists feel about it. Undoubtedly, some of them are pretty against it. Which is totally fair. Others, however, want people to know about them. If I were starting out as a musician, I would want as many people to know about me as possible, and a good way to do that is to make music free to listen to so that people have an awareness. Plus, once people know about the band, there are other ways to support them. Psychostick, a parody metal band, for example, financed their CDs through fan donations. And besides, listening to music on YouTube isn’t so different from hearing it on the radio. You don’t pay any money to listen to the radio, after all.

2 Responses to “Yaaar, fork over your doubloons and iTunes!”

  1. tycamchan said

    I know that if I was a musician I would want as many people as possible seeing and listening to my material. But nowadays its so easy for people to become “stars” that a lot of the good stuff gets overlooked, I feel. And these overnight celebrities are growing and growing.. Pretty soon people are gonna get famous just from crying when they come outta the womb!

  2. caitgate said

    When I like a song, I play it on Youtube a lot to make sure I actually want it before I go and buy it. It is so much more convenient to just look it up on Youtube than it is to go to iTunes, wait 10 years for it to actually open, buy the song, download it, then transfer it to my phone. I feel like artists just wanting to spread their music is kind of similar to artists that are on Spotify. Spotify is a free app and most artists on there, however some choose not to be.

Leave a Reply

 
