WKU POP 201

Introduction to Popular Culture Studies

#As American As

Posted by prestonperkins91 on October 31, 2016

Walking down the hill, I didn’t know what to expect when I showed up near the centennial mall, once I did show up it was a big wall wrapped in a circle like shape with pictures of diverse people, almost reminding me of World Showcase at Disney’s Epcot. I didn’t know 100% what the mall was based around except showing that Americans are all diverse, foreign, gay, straight, many religions and ethnicities, me, you and all of us are a part of that melting pot. Something most people around Warren Country or even Kentucky wouldn’t be open or comfortable (from my experiences growing up here). I do envy the ones who get to travel with As American As, going from campus to campus meeting all kinds of different students. I took a few selfies with the pictured walls in the background, and to be a part of it a little more than visiting the event, I put in my name for a chance to win an Apple device. I chatted with Sam and a few hosts of the event as well. When I find the right picture, I’ll post and hashtag it on twitter and other social media sites. Thanks to this and Sam’s class, I’m actually seeing how viral hash tagging could be. I’ve never actually been a part of a hashtag viral group on social media.

I hope someday in the near future people of the south will be more accepting diver of the diversity in our country.

Leave a Reply

 
